DOTC and the Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA) have initiated talks with five airlines to transfer operations from Ninoy Aquino International Airport’s (NAIA) Terminal 1 to Terminal 3 from July 2014 onwards, in a bid to decongest traffic. The five airlines are KLM, Cathay Pacific, Singapore Airlines, Delta Airlines, and Emirates Airlines. NAIA Terminal 1 that has been operational for three decades has been designed to accommodate about 4.5 million passengers annually. However, in recent years, traffic at the terminal has grown significantly to reach more than 8.4 million passengers in 2013. In contrast, only three airlines are currently operating at Terminal 3.