The Singapore Public Transport Council has approved the integration of the fare structure for the DTL with the existing distance-based system of the underground and automated MRT lines such as the Northeast Line and Circle Line. Phase I (DTL-1) of the line was scheduled to commence operations on December 22, 2013; it will comprise six new stations at Bugis, Promenade, Bayfront, Downtown, Telok Ayer, and Chinatown.