The Ministry of Public Works and Housing (PUPR) has earmarked spending of IDR21.56 trillion to construct 23 dams and revitalise lakes in Indonesia in 2024. The projects will be located on the Teloko Lake in South Sumatra, Tondano Lake in North Sulawesi, Tempe Lake in South Sulawesi, and Ayamaru Lake in Papua.

This includes 15 ongoing dam projects that are expected to be completed by 2024 including the Keureuto Dam and Rukoh Dam in Aceh Province, Tiga Dihaji Dam in South Sumatra, Leuwikeris Dam in West Java, Jlantah Dam, Bener Dam, Jragung Dam in Central Java, Bagong Dam in East Java, Sidan Dam in Bali, Meninting Dam in West Nusa Tenggara, Manikin Dam in East Nusa Tenggara, Marangkayu Dam in East Kalimantan, Bulango Ulu Dam in Gorontalo, Budong-Budong Dam in West Sulawesi, and Way Apu Dam in Maluku.

Meanwhile, funds have also been allocated towards seven under-construction projects that are scheduled for completion in 2025. This includes the Mbay Dam in East Nusa Tenggara, Jenelata Dam in South Sulawesi, Cibeet Dam and Cijurey Dam in West Java, Karangnongko Dam and Cabean Dam in Central Java, and Riam Kiwa Dam in South Kalimantan. Lastly, the new dam is Pelosika Dam in North Sulawesi.

A total of 61 dams are expected to be completed in 2024. Of these, 52 dams will have a total capacity of 3,734.09 million cubic metres.