The Government of Singapore has signed a free trade agreement (FTA) with the Pacific Alliance, which includes the Government of Mexico, Colombia, Chile and Peru, for cooperation in energy, infrastructure, digital, port logistics and shipping sectors. The new agreement is designed to simplify investment, expand access to the commodities market, and boost service providers’ access to a variety of industries.

Members of the Pacific Alliance will ratify the trade agreement in their national legislation and will take effect after at least two countries’ legislatures have approved it. In 2017, the Pacific Alliance free trade agreement negotiations were formally initiated.